Navigation Menu


Logo of the University of Bayreuth

Main content of this web page


Welcome to our Website

Learn more about the PhD Program in Molecular Biosciences

The aim of the molecular biosciences is to understand the biochemical and regulatory mechanisms of important biological processes and systems at a molecular level. Advances in this area of research form the basis for multifaceted applications in medicine and in biotechnology, as well as resolving basic processes that contribute to the in situ function of biological systems. Disciplines contributing to the doctoral program in Molecular Biosciences include organic chemistry, biochemistry, biophysics, molecular biology, and biotechnology.

Research Priority Area

The molecular biosciences are a field of research priority at the University of Bayreuth. The doctoral program is supported by members of the Bayreuth Center for Molecular Biosciences (BZMB) and the Research Center for Bio-Macromolecules (bio-mac). The Bavarian Elite Graduate School Lead Structures of Cell Function and the Masters of Science programs in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Molecular Ecology, and Natural Products and Drug Chemistry are affiliated with the doctoral program.

Purpose

The doctoral program in Molecular Biosciences provides an excellent graduate education for young researchers, enabling them to creatively develop scientific concepts and be competitive for careers in the molecular biosciences. These attributes of the doctoral program are augmented by interdisciplinary research programs that provide a basis for increased competence across scientific disciplines.

Independent Research and Scientific Communication

Innovative scientific research is at the heart of the doctoral program. A doctoral thesis advisory committee of three scientists oversees the program of each student. The doctoral student submits a research proposal to the committee at the beginning of the research project, which is then discussed and refined. Annual reports are provided to the committee so that the candidate's research can be periodically evaluated and optimized. Thus, doctoral programs are tailored to the strengths and interests of each candidate. The research programs of doctoral students are enhanced by participation in lab meetings, journal clubs, symposia, summer schools, and teaching. Candidates likewise participate in scientific meetings and receive training in the preparation of scientific manuscripts. The doctoral program thus qualifies successful candidates for careers in education, research, industry, and society.


Footer of this web page


© 2010 BayNAT, University of BayreuthLast modified: 5 April 2012


Skip to the .


[Footer of printer-friendly version]

Print-out from the Bayreuth Graduate School of Mathematical and Natural Sciences website, University of Bayreuth
http://www.baynat.uni-bayreuth.de/
Last modified: 5 April 2012, Copyright © University of Bayreuth - All rights reserved.

Navigationsmenü


Hauptinhalt dieser Seite


Herzlich Willkommen

Das Promotionsprogramm „Molekulare Biowissenschaften“ stellt sich vor

Das Ziel der molekularen Biowissenschaften ist es, die zentralen biologischen Prozesse und Systeme in ihren biochemischen Abläufen und ihrer Regulation auf molekularer Ebene zu verstehen. Die Erkenntnisse aus diesem Forschungsfeld bilden die Grundlage für die Entschlüsselung der Mechanismen, die die zellulären Funktionen biologischer Systeme bestimmen, und finden vielfältige Anwendungen in der Medizin und der Biotechnologie. Die im Promotionsprogramm „Molekulare Biowissenschaften“ zusammengeschlossenen Bereiche reichen von der organischen Chemie über die Biochemie, die Biophysik und die molekulare Biologie bis hin zur Biotechnologie.

Profilbildender Forschungsschwerpunkt

Die molekularen Biowissenschaften bilden an der Universität Bayreuth einen profilbildenden Forschungsschwerpunkt. Das Promotionsprogramm wird im Wesentlichen von den Mitgliedern des Bayreuther Zentrums für Molekulare Biowissenschaften (BZMB) und des Forschungszentrums für Bio-Makromoleküle (bio-mac) getragen. Es ist vernetzt mit der Graduiertenschule Leitstrukturen der Zellfunktion im Elitenetzwerk Bayern und den Masterstudiengängen Biochemie und Molekulare Biologie, Molekulare Ökologie und Natur- und Wirkstoffchemie.

Zielsetzung

Ziel des Promotionsprogramms „Molekulare Biowissenschaften“ ist es, jungen Wissenschaftlern eine hervorragende Ausbildung zu bieten, die sie befähigt, kreativ zur Weiterentwicklung wissenschaftlicher Konzepte beizutragen und Karrierewege in den molekularen Biowissenschaften konkurrenzfähig zu durchlaufen. Dazu bietet das Promotionsprogramm eine interdisziplinäre Ausbildung durch Forschung und die Förderung fachübergreifender Kompetenzen.

Selbständige Forschung und wissenschaftliche Kommunikation

Die wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zum Forschungsvorhaben bilden den Kern der Doktorandenausbildung. Jeder Doktorand wird in seinem Promotionsstudium von einem Mentorat begleitet, das aus drei Wissenschaftlern besteht. Zu Beginn des Promotionsstudiums erarbeitet der Doktorand einen Forschungsplan, der das Dissertationsprojekt vorstellt, und der mit dem Mentorat diskutiert und weiterentwickelt wird. Jährliche Zwischenberichte dienen dazu, den Forschritt des Forschungsprojektes regelmäßig zu evaluieren und optimieren. Darüber hinaus absolviert jeder Doktorand ein individuelles Trainingsprogramm, das optimal auf die spezifischen Fähigkeiten und Bedürfnisse des Doktoranden und die Erfordernisse des wissenschaftlichen Promotionsprojektes ausgerichtet ist. Dies beinhaltet die Teilnahme an Arbeitsgruppen- und Literaturseminaren, Doktorandensymposien, Sommerschulen und das Engagement in der Lehre. Darüber hinaus sollen die Doktoranden ihre Forschungsergebnisse auf wissenschaftlichen Tagungen präsentieren und sich am Verfassen von Veröffentlichungen beteiligen. Dieses Programm befähigt die Doktoranden zu selbständiger Forschung und wissenschaftlicher Kommunikation und bereitet sie optimal auf verantwortliche Tätigkeiten in Ausbildung, Forschung, Industrie und Gesellschaft vor.


Inhalt des Footers dieser Seite


© 2010 BayNAT, Universität BayreuthLetzte Änderung: 05.04.2012


Direkt zum .


[Fußzeile der Druckansicht]

Ausdruck aus dem Webangebot der Bayreuther Graduiertenschule für Mathematik und Naturwissenschaften, Universität Bayreuth
http://www.baynat.uni-bayreuth.de/
Stand: 05.04.2012, Copyright © Universität Bayreuth - Alle Rechte vorbehalten.